future cre8tors – Things You Don’t Learn In School

Just a quick share today of this article, “12 Things They Don’t Teach You In School About Being A Designer” by Jeff Archibald on Fast Company. I found that all of these resonated with me in some way. The article did make me wonder why these things are glossed over in an educational setting. Do instructors not want to broach them? Are they unnecessary for learning?

I understand that higher learning is intended to be conceptual and to teach one how to learn and to grown knowledge. At some point, though, graduates have to get jobs (no matter which design field). Tips like these, as simple as some of them may seem, do not likely occur to a graduating student. I wish every school in every degree offered a single-semester course called something like, “Your Career, In Reality”. It would be geared towards giving students actionable advice about their chosen careers. It would feature people from their respective fields imparting knowledge about their careers; pitfalls and obstacles on they way, things they didn’t expect, what they like and don’t like, etc. I believe something like this would be invaluable to students. I know I certainly would have appreciated it!

