The Art and Science of Color

Hues, Tints, Tones, and Shades
Hues, Tints, Tones, and Shades

Quick share of a great article written by artist/designer Hash Ketchum on Snaggdit. While the specifics apply to working with pigment or inks, I find that many of the ideas translate into other areas of design. For example, when mentioning “simplicity”, he says to “carefully evaluate your color scheme if you go beyond three colors. Since we know that color conveys meaning, multiple colors could end up sending a confusing message to your audience”.

I find that to be true. Whenever my work starts feeling too busy, as if it’s losing focus, I begin whittling away. My medium is light, so that usually means pulling down (or out) specific fixtures or simplifying the color story. Once I do that, the image often quickly gains greater clarity.

You can read more of Hash’s thoughts on color in the full article.

